Enough is Enough

I see lots of dogs in Manhattan, especially on the Upper East Side.  As one of my friends likes to say, “It’s puppies and babies up here, just puppies and babies.”  Well, yes, there are a lot of puppies and babies, but that doesn’t mean that they should be treated the same way!  You see some crazy things in this city; I’ve seen my fair share of weirdness when it comes to owners “walking” their dogs.  And I’ve seen it all, from a King Charles being pushed in a baby carriage, to a Terrier being pulled around in something that resembles a wheelie suitcase.  I’ve even witnessed dogs being held in backpacks and baby parachute carriers…

Dogs are meant to walk, people!

But today, I witnessed something I’ve never seen.  Something so disturbing, I literally had to stop and stare for it to sink in…  On my way to work this morning, I saw a woman carrying a duffel bag.  OK, fine.  She then sets it on the ground, unzips, and out walks a Greyhound!!!  Now keep in mind, it was not one of those Vuitton duffels that have holes in them for the poor animal to breathe, but a legit, probably smelly, gym bag.  Some people… 

If it were a Golden Retriever puppy I’d have reported this woman for animal cruelty (and offered to take the dog myself).

Leave a Reply

