The Art of Racing in the Rain

I had heard quite a bit about this New York Times Bestseller before I made the commitment to read it myself.  My co-worker recommended it to me (after hearing about how much I love my Golden Retriever, Riley, I’m sure), and within a week, she passed the paperback along for my own reading pleasure.

Now, when I first heard about this book a year or so ago, I thought, “How seriously can you take a book that is written from a dog’s perspective?“, but in all honestly, this was a book that was quite hard for me to put down.

The book is based on the point of view of Enzo, an intelligent and charming dog, whose owner is a professional race car driver.  After reading the first 50 pages or so, you begin to wonder, “Can my dog understand everything I say?  Does she understand what is going on around her?“.  Riley is a supermodel genius, so of course she can, but can others?

The Art of Racing in the Rain is a must-read for all dog lovers and owners alike.   One begins to feel a certain connection, even an attachment, to not only Enzo, but to the people around him, especially his owner, Denny.  This relationship was especially touching, and I can only hope that my own dog loves me the same way (although, sometimes I think she may love me too much).

This bestseller is entertaining, funny, heartwarming, and above all else, heart-wrenching.  Let’s just say that you should read some parts of this book in private, as I found myself on the beaches of Mattituck, sobbing behind my Ray Bans.  You’ve been warned.

my little sweets + me over 3 years


One Comment to “The Art of Racing in the Rain”

  1. I’m reading this book now!

Leave a Reply

