US Open 2011

When Mike surprised me with US Open tickets for my Birthday, I was thrilled, but all I could think was, “it’s so far away” (my Birthday is in June).  Little did I realize how quickly 2+ months can fly by, and before we knew it, it was time for us to trek on over to Queens for our first-ever live US Open experience.

We were fortunate enough to have tickets for an absolute beautiful day for tennis – not too hot, and minimal humidity – and we were even more fortunate to have the opportunity to see one of the greatest tennis players of all time, Roger Federer, play in Arthur Ashe Stadium.  Another treat?  An exclusive, front row peak at Novak Djokavic practicing for his match later that night. 

Oh, and the Grey Goose Honey Deuce wasn’t too bad, either.

One more perk that I can’t forget to mention, was the “Chase Lounge”.  The lounge was surprisingly empty, considering everybody in Manhattan has a Chase account of some sort (myself not included).   The lounge is made to make one feel like a complete VIP, and the best part?  Free food, drinks, and yes, even wine and beer.  When my friend told me about this mysterious place, I didn’t believe her, so I had to check it out for myself.  Unfortunately, the daytime session at the lounge is alcohol-free (waaaahh wahh), but on the upside, we got our hands on some free food and beverage… and you can’t beat air conditioning and clean bathrooms, either.

Mike, me, and our new friend

great view of the floating stadium from our seats

The men in action

a couple of champs just hanging out

Leave a Reply

