a belt for life.

… until you gain 20 pounds, at least!

Each time a holiday and/or Birthday rolls around, I begin to stress about what to gift my boyfriend of 4 years. 

It’s not that he’s high maintenance… In fact, he is anything but!  He appreciates everything I have ever given him, from a classic Brooks Brothers navy blue blazer, to silly – yet practical – rubber shoe covers for those nasty NYC winters.  That being said, I wanted to try and do something particularly special for his Birthday this year because I wanted him to know just how much I appreciate him (even though I tend not to show it at times).

My friend Lauren told me about a life belt that she was needle pointing for her brother last fall, and I immediately knew that would be Mike’s next Birthday gift.  I had never needle pointed a day in my life, but how hard could it be, right?

She then referred me to Debbie Purtell, who made the process seamless and painless.  Debbie owns Deborah Purtell Designs, and she was amazing.  Like I said, I didn’t know the first thing about needle pointing but thanks to Debbie & my mom, it was a great success!  Debbie worked with me on everything from the design to the actual finishing of the belt… She hand paints the icons herself, so every single thing about this belt is original, and customized by me, which makes it that much more special.

I have to say that the process took much longer than I expected (I needed to allow a good 2-3 months from start to finish), but it was worth it.  Needle pointing was also more therapeutic and more fun than I could have ever imagined.  I loved the progress I saw each time I picked up the belt and put it down before turning in for the night (it also didn’t hurt that Lauren and I had 5 days on a catamaran to do nothing by relax and needle point!).

I highly recommend this to anyone who is struggling to find that perfect gift for their special someone.

Check out my progress, above and below!

Leave a Reply

