“What Alice Forgot”

I picked up Liane Moriarty’s novel, What Alice Forgot, from my beach club library when I realized that I left my current summer reading, The Devil in the White City, in the city.  To be honest, the color of the paperback just grabbed me and I didn’t even read the back of the book before I decided that I’d be reading all about Alice and her forgetfulness for the remainder of the weekend.

This is one rare occasion where you actually can read a book by its cover.  I’ve been captivated by this novel since page 1, and I am just about finished, but am procrastinating for two reasons:  1. Isn’t is always so bittersweet to finish a really good book?  2. I’m afraid the ending will make me terribly sad and depressed, and I am putting those feelings off for as long as possible… or at least until I visit the beach this weekend.

What Alice Forgot is the perfect beach read… it has kept me up passed many bedtimes because I can’t seem to put it down, and I’ve only been reading it for a week!  Moriarty is funny, witty, and realistic, and she makes you feel like you actually know these fictional characters, and that you’re experiencing everything with them, firsthand.

It may be a fun read, but it’s extremely thought provoking.  Alice bumped her head and has no memory of the last ten years of her life, and it gets you thinking… what will my life be like in 10 years?  I can only hope and pray that I’ll be happily married with beautiful (sweet & obedient!) children, successful, wrinkle-free (only being honest!), healthy, and surrounded by loyal friends and my amazing family, and just… happy.  But as Alice quickly proves, life doesn’t always turn out the way we hoped.

I will definitely not forget this book, and I will continue to recommend it to anyone looking for that perfect beach read – or any read!  On that note, I think it’s time that I write a letter to my 35 year-old self!

Leave a Reply

