Sail to Sable

I love everything that connects to the sun and the sand…

A girl after my own heart.

I actually found out about Jennifer Stocker and her amazing line of tunics and dresses after I spent a weekend up in CT this past summer.  My boyfriend’s father was raving about a girl they all knew – a girl who launched her very own company.  She was featured front and center in the neighborhood paper and after reading it, beginning to end, all I could think was, “Wow.

And really… wow.  I knew she had to be one of the Leading Ladies in my Sweet Lemon Magazine feature.  

Jen Stocker is currently doing some serious juggling.  Not only is she the successful owner & founder of  Sail to Sable, she has managed to keep her day job.  Yep – in publishing!  Learn more about Jen & her lovely line of tunics, dresses and more, below!

I’m a beach girl at heart and I have to assume the same about you.  Tell us a bit about Sail to Sable and your vision behind it…

I love everything that connects to the sun and the sand— the feeling of endless summer. Our collection is inspired by bright colors, bold prints and lots of fun!

Is design in your blood?  

I have always loved the fashion industry and when I started working at Lucky Magazine I really got the itch to launch my own brand

We work in the same industry so I know how the hours can be.  Let’s just say that personal time can be a real luxury!  So between your day job and running your own company, how do you manage your time?

I finally have three interns working for me that help with a lot of the everyday work load but right now this brand is my baby so I am truly living and breathing Sail to Sable

Did the publishing industry help play a role when launching Sail to Sable?

Yes a huge role – the power of social media has played a key role in our success over the past three months. We launched the brand on Facebook and the amount of buzz has been remarkable!

What’s been your greatest challenge to date?

I think I had two huge challenges… one was finding the right contacts (factories, suppliers, help, etc…) and finding a reliable team. The other was finding my specific niche and how I would position my brand in the marketplace. The Sail to Sable collection is timeless and classic, and that was important to me to stick with that instead of getting lost in all of the trends of each season. 

Where and how do you find inspiration?

I find my inspiration through many local and long haul travels.  I try to be a tourist in my own city, and I listen to my customers for their needs from season to season.

Which do you prefer – home or fashion?

I would say I love them both equally.

Where do you see the brand in 5 years?  

I hope the brand continues to grow and I hope to expand across the country and into other parts of the globe.

How large is the Sail to Sable team?

Right now the team is my two interns and myself.  My father also plays a big role in all of the bookkeeping.  

I am always on the hunt for the perfect beach tunic, and more often than not, I find that they either fall too short or not short enough.  That, or they are cut too tight or hang too loose.  Yours seem to fit just right!  What’s your secret?  

Well, I think listening to your consumer is important, which I have done.  Fit was the most important part of launching the line. The launch was delayed until I found the perfect fit (I literally had over 30 people try on all sizes to make sure they fit all body types).  Our tunics have the darts in the back so they are flattering on every body and easy to alter the shape.

Where is your dream location for Sail to Sable to be sold?

We are already going to be sold in over 30 Lilly Pulitzer via locations. Which was definitely a dream come true. I would love to see the brand sold in some of the Calypso stores because it is such a true and natural fit for all tunic lovers.

Absolutely!  That’s where all of my tunics are from – or should I say were from… When did you first realize that you made it BIG?

Well that is kind of you, I would not say we have made it BIG yet. But I think we are moving in the right direction in just four months in business.

What are five things you can’t you live without?

I cannot live without black tea & lemonade from Starbucks, Rare turkey burgers, Argan oil lip balm, Roger Vivier flats, Jack Rogers Sandals

When you were five years old, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be a lawyer… Ha!  Funny to think about now.

We all want to know… what’s it like being your own boss?  What are some of the pros and cons?

I need structure and being your own boss definitely loses that, but I treat my interns the way I would want to be treated and I’m so happy with the way everything has worked out.

What is your ultimate goal as an entrepreneur?  

I want to see the brand grow, but ultimately want to continue having fun – I love learning new things everyday.  I just got back from Atlanta from the Apparel Market and met so many amazing people… 

Leave a Reply

