Carolina in my mind…

I haven’t been sleeping much recently.  The fear of the unknown is keeping me up at night and my mind is racing at record speeds.  My to-do list is growing by the minute and I can’t shake the feeling that I’m forgetting something.

Maybe what I’m forgetting here is a feeling…  I’m forgetting how badly I’ve wanted to up-and-leave New York.  To try something new.  Move down south.  And move to Charleston.  This is what I’ve been wanting, and I need to keep reminding myself of that (see here, here, here and most importantly, here).

For as long as I can remember, James Taylor’s “Carolina in my Mind” has given me goosebumps.  It makes my eyes well up every.single.time…  Now, more than ever.

In my mind I’m gone to Carolina.  

Can’t you see the sunshine?  

Can’t you just feel the moonshine?  

And ain’t it just like a friend of mine to hit me from behind?  

Yes, I’m gone to Carolina in my mind…

Moving day is steadily approaching and Carolina will no longer be in my mind – it will be a reality.  All I can do now is hope that this life-altering event will make my life that much more special and exciting.  When I begin to overthink things, I feel my heart race, my body tense up, my throat close… This is certainly one of those times where I just need to hold my nose, and jump!

all prints on Society6


One Comment to “Carolina in my mind…”

  1. The day when I’m able to join you cannot come soon enough!

Leave a Reply

