Crave & Save: The Duffel

Polo Ralph Lauren, $425  |  Mark & Graham, $199

There’s something about carrying a good duffel bag. You’re on the go, but not for long, and you don’t need a whole lot to be happy wherever it is you’re going.

When I was younger, my Dad would travel for work and he’d always have his black leather COACH duffel in-tow. Of course I wanted to be just like him, so I managed to swipe his American Express-branded Cutter+Buck duffel, unbeknownst to him. The chestnut color is crisp and beautiful, but the bag weighs a good 10 pounds when empty, so it’s not the most practical. Regardless of practicality, he’ll never get it back because every time I pick it up, I think about him—and I could never part with that… Thanks, Dad!

Recently a friend of mine came to me in search of the perfect duffel. After struggling to lug a leather duffel around for years, I suggested that she go the canvas route. It’s lighter and more manageable, and typically more affordable.

My current favorite has got to be the Mark & Graham canvas overnight bag. That friend actually took my advice and ordered one for herself and she absolutely loves it… what’s not to love? A very close second is this olive green Filson duffel, pictured below. I actually think the olive green is my favorite because you don’t have to worry about it staining, and like a fine wine, will probably only get better with age.

1. Filson, $295  |  2. Herschel, $68  |  3. Flud, $72

4. Brooks Brothers, $598  |  5. Polo Ralph Lauren, $598  |  6. Polo Ralph Lauren, $425

Leave a Reply

