Little Girls & Their Dads

A  little girl’s relationship with her father is a very special one, which is why I enjoyed this article so much. This is the second Father’s Day we’ve spent apart and I would prefer not to make a habit of it, but I look forward to celebrating with him in two weeks.

Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there, and an even happier one to my own dad!

The below statements in 50 Rules for Dads of Daughters particularly stood out to me. 

1. “Love her mom. Treat her mother with respect, honor, and a big heaping spoonful of public displays of affection. When she grows up, the odds are good she’ll fall in love with and marry someone who treats her much like you treated her mother.”  This is very true… I’ve always admired my parent’s relationship and I have always admired the way my dad has treated my mom.

7. “She will fight with her mother. Choose sides wisely.”  My dad always chooses my mom’s side… Always. I suppose this is why #1 really stood out to me. And I suppose that is what he should do.

11. “There will come a day when she asks for a puppy. Don’t over think it. At least one time in her life, just say, ‘Yes.'”  He said yes, alright. Twice.

15. “Dance with her. Start when she’s a little girl or even when she’s a baby. Don’t wait ‘til her wedding day.”  I used to love standing on my dad’s shoes as he danced around. Is this something all little girls do?

28. “She will eagerly await your return home from work in the evenings. Don’t be late.”  I think this one stood out to me the most… Nightly rituals consisted of me waiting for my dad to get home from work. I’d watch him walk down the street from the train station in the summertime, and I’d wait for him at the top of the stairs in the cooler months, only to then leap into his arms the moment he set his briefcase down.

30. “Never miss her birthday. In ten years she won’t remember the present you gave her. She will remember if you weren’t there.”  I am pretty sure that neither of my parents have ever missed a Birthday. We always do cake and presents and we always make a wish when we blow out the candles. Even this year, they will make sure to travel  just shy of 800 miles to be in Charleston to celebrate with me.

37. “Introduce her to the swings at your local park. She’ll squeal for you to push her higher and faster. Her definition of “higher and faster” is probably not the same as yours. Keep that in mind.”

42. “Let her know she can always come home. No matter what.”

44. “Write her a handwritten letter every year on her birthday. Give them to her when she goes off to college, becomes a mother herself, or when you think she needs them most.”  My dad wrote me a handwritten letter for my college graduation. I will cherish it forever, but it’s hard for me to read because it brings tears to my eyes, immediately upon opening it.

47. “When your teenage daughter is upset, learning when to engage and when to back off will add years to YOUR life. If you succeed in doing this, tell me how.”  Something tells me he knows this all too well…

48. “Ice cream covers over a multitude of sins. Know her favorite flavor.”  Häagen-Dazs coffee ice cream… Always has been, always will be.

Father’s Day circa 1990…? My mom will know the exact year.

Father’s Day 2011

One Comment to “Little Girls & Their Dads”

  1. So so special.

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

