the lunch scene

The lunch scene in New York is like none other. It’s untouchable, really. I realize this, perhaps a little too late, but it makes me appreciate it even more so now that it’s slipped through my fingertips. This is where the phrase, “you don’t know what you’ve got ’til it’s gone” really does my feelings justice.

Each day, around 11 o’clock or so, I’d begin to think about what I’d eat for lunch–OK, fine, these thoughts would typically come to me on my morning subway ride… don’t judge. Pizza, sushi, a deli sandwich, a chopped salad, a hamburger, a wrap, maybe a bowl of soup if it’s a cold day, a smoothie if it’s a hot day. Everything I could possibly crave, was at my fingertips.

Now here I am, in a new city with nothing to eat for lunch. I suppose the silver lining is that I pack a lunch nearly every single day, so I’m saving that $10 that would go towards Chop’t, Bocca, Lenny’s or the pizzeria down the street every day.

Oh, but that silver lining is nothing compared to the joy of experiencing the NYC lunch scene… don’t make the same mistake I did, New Yorkers. Don’t take it for granted… although I’m sure you do.

Leave a Reply

