Indaco

There’s no such thing as Italian food outside of New York–and Italy, of course– but that is only my opinion and I love to be proven wrong! Indaco is doing its best to stand out in a sea of trendy restaurants on Upper King Street, but I’m not sure I’d consider them an “Italian” restaurant.

The food was well and good, but would it survive up North? I don’t know about that.

I did enjoy my dish, though, and the small plates to start were quite good, too. Nothing to write home about, but the Roasted Brussel Sprouts Pizza was very tasty and the Crispy Chickpeas were a hit at the table. For my main course, I ordered the Camera D’Aria, which is a thick squid ink pasta wrapped around scallops, shrimp and blue crab. Imagine a pasta sushi roll, basically.

Of course I’m partial to good old-fashioned red vodka sauce Italian, but it appears as though I’ll have to get used to this whole “rustic Southern Italian” movement. Hats off to them, though, as they opened less than two months ago and already have the restaurant in great working order.

I’ll go back, but probably not right away.

Leave a Reply

