Billy Joel at MSG

Growing up, there was always a playlist. Whether we were road tripping to Southern Utah, Sun Valley, Upstate New York, Vermont, Mattituck, Hilton Head, or the beach club, my Dad had a soundtrack to make each experience even more memorable and fun.

Bob Dylan, The Beatles, The Police, Van Morrison, Jackson Browne, Tom Petty, Elton John, Queen, The Rolling Stones, The Beach Boys, Elvis Presley, Simon & Garfunkle, Steve Miller Band… An array of talented artists and classic songs would play as we’d all sing along and my Dad would ask, “Who sings this song?“. He always knew, of course, but that simple question has made me a music master.

My favorite musician on those road trip playlists was always Billy Joel. A born and bred New Yorker, raised on Long Island, just like me. I knew every album, every song, every word–although I didn’t quite know what they meant at the time.

My first cassette tape was Billy Joel’s Storm Front. I followed in my Dad’s footsteps starting at the ripe age of seven and I’d create playlists of my own–most of the songs being sung by none other than The Piano Man. My parents took me to my first Billy Joel concert at The Delta Center in Salt Lake City and I’ll never forget it. It was my very first concert and it couldn’t be more fitting. Hit after hit, we sang and danced through the night.

Fifteen years later, I finally made it back to see Billy Joel perform live–this time, at Madison Square Garden. He was entertaining and funny, and although it was long overdue, he sounded just as he did on my cassette tapes.

Leave a Reply

