Hydrangea Care

Hydrangeas have been my favorite flower for as long as I can remember. Blue, white, purple, or green… I love every hue. They’re a sure sign that summer has arrived and there’s nothing better than that reassurance.

The one downside to keeping hydrangeas indoors, though, is their short lifespan. I’d buy them from my local street vendor on a Wednesday and come Friday, they’d be sad and wilted.

After getting some advice from my sister and doing some research of my own, I’ve managed to make my latest bouquet last for 4 weeks–and they’re still going.

I followed these foolproof steps and could not be happier with the outcome:

1.  Diagonally cut the bottoms of each stem

2.  Slice a line up the center of each stem–approximately one inch

3.  Place the flowers in room temperature water

4.  Boil water and place the stems in a cup of said boiling water for 30 seconds

5.  Place back in original water

6.  Clip off each green leaf

7.  Mist the flower petals with water every other day or so

8.  Voila! Your hydrangeas will be looking pretty for days–maybe even weeks–longer

One Comment to “Hydrangea Care”

  1. amazing! i don’t think any cut flower has ever lived longer.

Leave a Reply

