27 things to say goodbye to at 27

With my birthday less than two weeks away, this article popped up on my Facebook newsfeed. Could the timing be any more appropriate? As depressing as it may be–seeing as so much of the article is so true–it’s something we all need to face at one point or another.

The points that resonated with me most, below:

1. Everything bagels bathed in full-fat cream cheese. It will immediately make your face fat. So I suppose those three everything bagels with cream cheese that I’ve consumed in the last four days were my last…

3. Taking vacations “just because.” Kiss adventurous traveling goodbye at 27. The next few years are chock full of weddings and every dime you make will go towards plane tickets, wedding gifts, and clothes for said weddings. But they’re really fun. I promise. Mike and I have been struggling with this one especially while being in a long distance relationship. We struggle trying to find time for ourselves which is why we try to take advantage of each wedding weekend by making long weekends out of them. And weddings are fun!

5. Dancing at the bar until the lights come on and expecting to not be in bed until 3 PM the next day recovering. This past “Big Wednesday” was the last time I will do this, Mom and Dad. I promise. 

10. Rainbow sandals. You’ve been wearing them since you were 15. It’s time to let them go. I will not give up my Rainbows. Or my Havianas. 

12. White dresses. Again, your life revolves around other people’s weddings so these are the only events you will attend. And somewhere in the last 5 years, a rule came about that the bride wears white to not only her wedding, but every shower, Bachelorette party, and engagement party; and if a guest dares to wear white too…they will be shunned. Does this mean I have to return the white dress I just purchased? 

14. Speaking of work, you must be VERY serious about your career. No more “but I’m fresh out of college! I’m exploring my options!” You’re 5+ years out. Stop gchatting and figure it out. Stop g-chatting?! That’s a tough one.

17. Boy bands. Everyone can see your Spotify “recently played” and you look like a pedophile. Members of the Backstreet Boys and N*Sync are older than me…

19. Fighting with your Mother. Haven’t you learned by now? She really is always right. I wouldn’t say always, but pretty darn close. 

22. Not showering every day. You’re a grown woman and you can no longer get away with this. If you’re one of those mysterious girls who can go 7 days without washing her hair and look flawless, go for it. But wash that bod. Every day. Thank God it’s still acceptable for me to skip washing my hair. Dry shampoo is everything.

26. Facebook albums. Your once daily Instagrams are more than enough. Just when I was contemplating posting an album or two to Facebook. Dammit. 

27. Not working out. I know it sucks, but just do it. Every single day. I can’t. I just… can’t.  

Leave a Reply

