Yankee Gone Shootin’

Some may find it ironic that I work for a company with the word “gun” in it, but never once have I actually shot one–let alone held one. A mere two months past my one-year anniversary in the South, I finally seized the opportunity.

My team took a little field trip to Brays Island Plantation, a sporting community an hour outside of Charleston, and that’s where I took my first shot. The sun was beating down and it was 110º with 100% humidity, but there was no better place to learn the proper gun handling, etiquette, or jargon.

I learned how to stand, how to hold a gun, how to load a gun, the best way to avoid the dreaded kickback, the difference between a five stand, skeet shooting, and sporting clays, and most importantly: how to hit a target.

Screen Shot 2014-06-24 at 10.37.31 PM

One Comment to “Yankee Gone Shootin’”

  1. I’m so happy you had the opportunity to do this!

Leave a Reply

