The Loeb Boathouse, Central Park

Staff members assume that if you’re dining at The Loeb Boathouse in Central Parkon a Monday afternoon, no less–you’re automatically a clueless tourist. I’ll have you know that I am no tourist–OK, now, maybe a little bit–and I am certainly not clueless when it comes to the restaurant business in NYC. I truly hate when a host or hostess speaks down to me. It is one of my biggest pet peeves. You are the first person people see when they walk through that door so you better put on a happy face… no matter how badly your feet may hurt (I used to be a greeter at Abercrombie & Fitch; I get it). If you couldn’t tell already, this particular hostess really got under my skin.

Moving on!

Now that I’ve vented my frustrations about the staff, I can talk about more important things like the food and overall atmosphere. Their claim to fame is their crab cake, which was undoubtedly one of the better crab cakes I’ve ever tasted–after Magnolias in Charleston. Now, the ambiance. Central Park is beautiful and I always feel at home when walking along the winding paths, whether they’re surrounded by greenery or mounds of white snow. Dining al fresco, overlooking the views of the park is definitely not something to complain about and that is a big reason to dine at the Boathouse–if not the reason.

I remember when people used to dress up to go to the Central Park Boathouse. It used to be for special occasions and important business meetings, but I soon realized that nobody dresses up anymore. Nobody cares about how they look, nobody bothers to put on a clean shirt, or change out of their sneakers. It’s the same thing when you attend a Broadway show. My parents would dress my sister and me up in our Sunday best when we were young, and now you’ll see people–grown people–stroll into a show in sweatpants and sneakers. It’s sad, really. And I guess that just goes to show, The Loeb Boathouse in Central Park is a major tourist trap. And we got trapped. But so what? I love it anyway.

 

Leave a Reply

