big news!

It’s hard to believe that eight short years ago, Mike was just the cute boy in my Spanish class who I secretly hoped would be assigned my partner on a class project. Sure enough, as fate would have it–and I do believe it was fate–my Spanish class crush and I were paired up.

Two weeks ago, Mike and my dad went golfing. They had been meaning to play all summer so I didn’t think much of it until friends started buzzing. Post-golf outing, Mike sent a selfie of he and my dad–wearing two of the biggest smiles I had ever seen on either one of them. LIttle did I know what was behind those smiles…

Labor Day Weekend has always been one of my favorite weekends. Not only because it’s a long weekend, but the air is dry, the nights are crisp, and the water is always warm. My parents got married over Labor Day Weekend 36 years ago. Labor Day Weekend is also the reason Mike and I started speaking in the first place. He had overheard me telling a girl in our class that I was flying home for the long weekend–he’s a very good eavesdropper–and he asked me where home was. We soon discovered that my home and his home were nearly 700 miles from Miami’s beautiful campus in Oxford, Ohio; but a mere 50 miles from each other.

Fast forward eight Labor Day Weekends later and after a long dip in the warm Atlantic followed by a stroll hand in hand to one of Charleston’s deserted beaches, Mike got down on one knee and made it official. It was the perfect place and the perfect time, and now Labor Day Weekend will really, forever be my favorite.

Leave a Reply

