Anticipation Designs

I’ve been working on a small side project for the past several weeks and although I can’t disclose too much, I can say that this side project has given me an entirely newfound appreciation for those launching their own businesses (and just to be clear, no, I am not launching my own business – but I wish I could!).

That being said, without saying too much, meet Taylor Mangold.

Taylor is a recent college graduate who started a shop on Etsy, called Anticipation Designs.  Her illustrations are adorable and she is such a sweetheart.  I received my custom notecards (below) in record time, along with a sweet personal note from Taylor.  She is happy to create all sorts of personalized stationery and prints for her clients.  Her sketches reminds me of Inslee Haynes’ beautiful illustrations – fashionable and feminine, with a touch of whimsy.

As many people close to me know, I am a stationery fiend.  Really, I have a massive lacquer box that holds all of my favorites, and I am so happy to add Taylor’s notecards to my collection!

When did you decide to launch Anticipation Designs?

I decided to launch Anticipation as my little side business because I loved the idea of sharing my art in a form where people can use it to send happiness to others. I never designed stationery before, but I find myself moving more towards that direction, because it is functional and artistic in a way that stays true to me.

How did you get started?

I have been painting since my childhood, but over the last few months I have accumulated lots of my own paintings and just decided to do something with them. Hence, Anticipation Designs. I opened an Etsy store in July 2012. Small beginnings!

Where/how do you find inspiration for your designs?

I find inspiration in myself and in others. My work is varied – I illustrate many things, from fashion to landscapes. I try to aim for a certain feel in each brushstroke. I am inspired by other artists, bloggers, famous photographers, my friends and family. Lately I would say that I am inspired by my dreams to travel.

What has been your biggest challenge to date?

My biggest challenge to date is finding ways to increase the functionality of my product. I want someone to look at my collection and think, “hey! I could use that, and it’s pretty.” Also, in my commissioned works, I strive to mimic each persons’ individuality in my piece, which can be a challenge.

 

How would you like to expand your brand?

I would be happy to expand my brand to my own website when I am more well-known in this community. I thank bloggers who follow my blog, Anticipation, for all of the support and encouragement in my business.I’d like to see Anticipation Designs churning out more illustrations and stationery for a tailored taste. I would love to work more on personalized invitations and commissions for my clients. I truly enjoy working with a client to come up with the most true and artistic composition.

How do you stay motivated?   

On a recent commission, I worked with a woman who was commissioning me to create a secret Bachelorette Party invitation for a friend getting married. When she showed the bride-to-be my illustration, she apparently broke down in tears of surprise and happiness. When I heard about this, I was so happy and shocked, too! I was filled with joy to think that my painting brought so much happiness to another. If I could do that again, if only for an instant, I’d be thrilled. People motivate me.

Leave a comment